Other Pages

Expand All

resources.md

### Learning Ruby
* [TryRuby](http://tryruby.org/) a browser-based interactive tutorial in Ruby
* ["Learning to Program" by Chris Pine](http://www.pragprog.com/titles/ltp2/learn-to-program-2nd-edition) - a beginner's programming book with lots of Ruby exercises.  (earlier version [online](http://pine.fm/LearnToProgram))
* [Why's Poignant Guide](http://poignant.guide/book/chapter-1.html)
* [Hackety Hack](http://hackety-hack.com/) a fun way for beginners to learn Ruby.
* [Ruby Koans](http://rubykoans.com/) - a self-guided journey through topics in Ruby for beginners and experts alike
* [Test-First Teaching](http://testfirst.org) - click on 'Learn Ruby'
* [Ruby Warrior](https://github.com/ryanb/ruby-warrior) - write and refine some Ruby code to get your warrior to the top of a hazardous tower
* [Ruby Quiz](http://www.rubyquiz.com) - a guided tour through the world of possibility; use your Ruby to build simple apps, games, and solve problems
* [Why's Poignant Guide to Ruby](http://poignant.guide/book/chapter-1.html) - A whimsical comic book that teaches you Ruby. Legendary in the community.
* [Learn Ruby the Hard Way](http://ruby.learncodethehardway.org/) It's not actually hard. A great place to start if you're new to programming and want to learn with hands-on examples.
* [PDX tech workshop](http://github.com/caylee-hogg/pdx-ruby-course) This are the slides from the ruby/rails workshop organized in Portland, OR by [PDXtech](http://pdxtechworkshops.org/)

### Learn about Rails

* [Rails Guides](http://guides.rubyonrails.org/) - the official how-to articles for Rails
* [Rails API](http://api.rubyonrails.org/) - online documentation
* [Rails for Zombies](http://railsforzombies.org/) - a series of videos and browser-based Rails exercises
* [Rails Tutorial](http://ruby.railstutorial.org/) - a tutorial that leads you through writing a Rails messaging app

### Watch screen casts

* [RailsCasts](http://railscasts.com)  (also available as [blog posts](http://asciicasts.com/))

### Classes & events in San Francisco

* [RailsBridge Workshops organizing team](http://groups.google.com/group/railsbridge-workshops)
* [Women Who Code meetup](http://www.meetup.com/Women-Who-Code-SF/) (monthly hack nights & speakers)

### Online

* [RailsBridge](http://railsbridge.org)
* [DevChix](http://www.devchix.com) -blog and mailing list for women developers
* [Stack Overflow](http://stackoverflow.com/)  -for answers to programming questions

### Get experience

* Just do it. Write and publish your own Rails app.
* Volunteer at the next workshop
* Volunteer on a RailsBridge Builders project
* Come to a hack session

### Meetups and User Groups outside of San Francisco

* Boulder Ruby (monthly events): http://boulderruby.org/
* DeRailed - Denver Rails UG: http://groups.google.com/group/derailed
* Mountain.rb (Boulder, Colorado) http://mountainrb.com
* Chicago Ruby (beginners welcome!) http://www.meetup.com/ChicagoRuby/